Malicious Backstabbing Take 2

I thought it’s only fair by everybody to post an update to yesterday’s ranting tantrum. I had just walked into the office today, when the person concerned requested to have a chat with me. Having had a quick puff or two on a ciggie to brace myself, i walked into the boardroom and sat down.

I was shocked when the first words out of his mouth were “I would like to say sorry”. The discussion continued to the effect that he had made a mistake in discussing my personal stuff with an outsider and that it would never happen again. I was asked to also convey his sincere sounding apologies to my wife who he understands was put in a difficult position because of him.

The rest of the discussion was more on the lines of how much he as a senior management person appreciates and values my contribution to the agency, blah, blah, blah. I guess the big boss had given him a bit of a lecture on the ethics of our agency and the fact that we always look after our own and their families. No matter what.

I did voice my disappointment about the fact that things had to go this far and also made it clear that one of the main reasons for me to go into free lance work for a space of time was the levels of back stabbing and gossip that is constantly happening in the industry. So I can always walk out of here if it does happen again and tell him “I told you so”.

So thus ends the saga. I guess it’s good that I did wait till today to see what the developments would be. Of course, ever the cynic,  it remains to be seen if the promises made will be lived up to in the future.

3 Responses to “Malicious Backstabbing Take 2”

  1. d Says:

    now you have me dying of bloody curiosity to know who this is? oh well. it happens everywhere, so don’t worry.

  2. Heather Says:

    Please post SOMETHING so we know what’s going on your life. There’s nothing here anymore 😦 thanks Romeo

  3. Heather Says:

    Please post SOMETHING so we know what’s going on IN your life. There’s nothing here anymore thanks Romeo

Leave a Reply

